top of page
  • Ulisse Cardini

Alice Blanckaert

Updated: Jul 21, 2023


alice blanckaert profile pic

Position: Postdoctoral fellow

SZN Dept: Research Infrastructures for marine biological resources


Email: alice.blanckaert(at)szn.it

Telephone: +39 081 5833 683

Twitter: @Aliceblnck




Scientific interests in a nutshell:

My main research interest focuses on marine symbiosis. I am particularly interested in understanding how the partners interact within the holobiont (host and symbiont unit) and in relation to the environment, especially in a changing environment (in the context of climate change). During my PhD, I primarily investigated the interaction between the coral host and its associated dinoflagellate. In particular, I focused on how nutrient availability and environmental changes could affect their association. Now, I am looking at the relationship between benthic primary producers, invertebrates, and microbes. I am investigating gas fluxes between the different organisms using dissolved gas measurements and developing mesocosm experiments to assess host – microbe interactions.


Selected publications:

bottom of page