top of page
  • Elena Desiderà

Riccardo A. Vargiu


german zapata profile pic

Position: Research fellowship holder

SZN Dept: Integrative Marine Ecology


Email: riccardoantonello.vargiu(at)szn.it



Skype: Riccardo_Vargiu


Twitter: //


Web: //



Scientific interests in a nutshell:

My research focuses on fish ecology, particularly the effectiveness of Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) and the impacts of overfishing on Mediterranean ecosystems. I hold a master's degree from the University of Sassari, where I studied the spatiotemporal variability of fish populations using underwater visual census (UVC). Post-graduation, I developed skills in monitoring small-scale fisheries through photographic methods and interviews, promoting sustainable management strategies. I also gained experience in passive acoustic monitoring (PAM) to study coralligenous fish biodiversity. Currently, I am collaborating with the Stazione Zoologica Anton Dohrn on the MUrFor project to identify critical ecosystem thresholds among fishing activities, sea urchins, and macroalgal forests, aiming to prevent habitat changes and promote sustainable fishing practices. I aim to study climate change impacts on Mediterranean fish fauna, integrating research on tropicalization and meridionalization with local ecological knowledge (LEK), citizen science, and field experiments.



Comments


bottom of page