top of page
  • Elena Desiderà

Federico Pinna


german zapata profile pic

Position: Postdoctoral Fellow

SZN Dept: Integrative Marine Ecology


Email:



Skype: F_Pinna86


Twitter: @fpinna86




Scientific interests in a nutshell:

On a broader scale, my research focuses on the biological and physical processes that shape patterns in benthic marine communities and how key stone and engineering species respond to local (i.e. mechanical damage, overfishing) and global stressors (i.e. warming). To achieve this goal, I carry out studies using multiple ecological approaches which include long-term field monitoring, manipulative field and laboratory experiments.

I earn my PhD at University of Sassari during which my research focused on estimate biodiversity and vulnerability of Coralligenous assemblages and their main bio-constructors (i.e. crustose coralline algae) in a climate change scenario through both descriptive and experimental approach.

Currently, my work takes place in the subtidal communities of the Mediterranean Sea, with a specific focus on the sea urchin populations dynamics related to global warming and overfishing, conducting grazing and thermotolerant experiments. Additionally, I investigate the biodiversity and resilience of crustose coralline algae in relation to warming and mechanical impact.




bottom of page